Celebrity News

Dad of alleged R. Kelly ‘sex slave’ derails press conference

The enraged dad of a 23-year-old alleged “sex slave” victim of R. Kelly derailed a Friday morning press conference held by a rep of the singer in Atlanta — demanding to know his daughter’s whereabouts.

Darrell Johnson, who describes himself as Kelly’s “crisis manager,” was just beginning to recount the details of the singer’s Thursday arrest by the NYPD and federal investigators when Joycelyn Savage’s dad interrupted.

“I don’t want to hear all that, bro!” Timothy Savage yelled, as he was held back from approaching Johnson. “Where’s my daughter at? Where is she at? Answer that question!”

“I don’t want to come and hear your lies!” Savage seethed.

Johnson, who said he was hired by R. Kelly’s lawyer Steven Greenberg, insisted he doesn’t really know Joycelyn personally and had no information on her whereabouts.

“I met your daughter six times,” he said. “I’ve seen her in and out of [Chicago] Trump Tower. I haven’t seen anything that I would say is suspicious or harmful to your daughter. Zero. Now the person you should be addressing this to is Mr. Kelly and Mr. Kelly’s attorney. I can’t tell you anything about your daughter. I do not work for your daughter. … I have absolutely nothing to do with your daughter. I have sympathy for you guys, but that’s not my job.”

But reporters continued to press Johnson about the whereabouts of the women Kelly has been accused of holding hostage.

“First of all, I can’t make girls available to anybody,” Johnson insisted. “I’m a little confused. People think I’m in charge of the Clarys [referring to another alleged victim, Azriel Clary] and the Savages. These are grown women. I’m not in charge of them. I’m the crisis manager. I’m not a babysitter. That’s not what I do.”

He also insisted that he was not enabling Kelly in any way.

“I haven’t held anyone hostage. I haven’t harbored, I haven’t harbored, abetted, I haven’t held anyone,” he said. “I don’t do that, that’s not what I do. I have nothing absolutely nothing to do with any of the stuff you guys are saying. I know nothing about that.”

Kelly, 52, had been walking his dogs outside Chicago’s Trump Tower on Thursday night when he was arrested — “nothing new, the same charges [as] a decade ago,” Johnson said at the beginning of the press conference.

Kelly is accused in the Chicago indictment of sexually exploiting at least five girls and women, identified only as Jane Does, between January 1999 and the present in Illinois, California, New York, Connecticut and other places.