Cindy Adams

Cindy Adams

Celebrity News

Rudy Giuliani says he’d want to be NYC’s mayor again

Tuesday. Giuliani’s 75th birthday party. Yankee Stadium’s owners’ box. Outside, the San Diego Padres. Inside, Rudy’s personal and closest. The nearest Democrat was in San Diego.

After receiving the team’s bat, hat, shirt and jacket embroidered with No. 75, plus his own liquid shots, he gave us a smile, a hug, a short speech, a big laugh. So would he like being Mayor of New York again?

“Yes. And I’d still be two years younger than Joe Biden.”

Son Andrew: “I just came from winning Sunday’s New York City amateur golf championship. Men’s Division. The game was in Staten Island. I held up my huge crystal trophy for everyone to see and I told them, ‘Now, finally, the Giuliani name will be known in New York!’ ”

Daughter Caroline: “I just wrote and directed ‘Or Someone Else,’ a short psychological thriller film being submitted to festivals. The plot twist is dangers of depression and human relationships. A woman juggling mental health issues in an abusive relationship, which I know about. I’ve had that.

“I live in California. Studied acting, do voice-overs, been on film sets, handled writers and directors, and I wanted more of my own creativity.”

Judge Jeanine Pirro: “My TV show’s No. 1 on Fox, but being of Lebanese descent, I’ve been asked about being ambassador to Lebanon. I said, ‘No, thanks. I prefer to serve tea on a tray and not on my head.’ ”

Joe Piscopo, heading home at 8 p.m.: “Listen, I’m up 3:00 every morning. I’m on radio, AM 970 every day 6 to 10 a.m., and have been for years. This is now my bedtime.”

After Rudy’s day of depositions, his longtime forever friend Tony Carbonetti mentioned the divorcing elephant in the room: “Rudy is so happy tonight. It’s how we all wished Judith’s wake would be.” Me: You want me to print that? Tony: “Yes.”

Hawke’d roles

Ethan Hawke: “I’ve done a thing now and then where I take a year off or end up doing something else awhile. Then I watch punk kids who took the parts I turned down and go on to become big stars. So annoying.”

Doing dine time

New York’s so great. Between politicians, financiers, lawyers, types who flunked math, plus everyday crooks, we got us a lot of felons. They’re everywhere. Going in, out or awaiting the can, they shop Madison, stroll Fifth, dine big time. One hostess explained the ex-jailee enjoying her high-class Park Avenue dining room: “If he looks good and wears a blue suit, nobody in New York cares. For dinner table conversation he’s a great centerpiece. Beats flowers.”

Bedtime for babes

Sara Haines of ABC’s “Strahan & Sara” told 65 pregnant ladies in the audience that everyone’s going home with the high-tech, $1,300 safe baby bed Snoo. She had one for Baby No. 2 and again for her expected son. Devotees include Molly Sims, Matthew Morrison, Serena Williams, Zoe Saldana, Mila Kunis. Michael Strahan was also there. Whether or not he is Snooless, this I don’t know.

Some whisperings

James Earl Jones’ son Flynn voices audiobooks but previously served backstage as dad’s right hand in every dressing room. Jimmy, who dislikes e-mail and phones, told me: “I’m still working. Showbusiness wasn’t the idea for my son. I didn’t approach that as his career, but seems it’s what he’s choosing” . . . Another Andrew Lloyd Webber musical — creatively and very differently based on a fairy tale — may soon be upon us.


“Cellphones are great. Now you can reach long distance wrong numbers everywhere without operator assistance.”

Mumbled only in New York, kids, only in New York.