Style

Anne Hathaway suffers wardrobe malfunction on the way to ‘Colbert’

Anne Hathaway coming and going from "The Late Show With Stephen Colbert"
Anne Hathaway coming and going from “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert”Getty Images (2)

Anne Hathaway had to do a quick outfit change before her appearance on “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” after splitting her pants on the car ride over.

“If you guys want to, Google the pictures of me outside,” the actress, 36, told the audience. “You might notice I’m standing like this,” she said, crossing her legs and placing a hand on her hip, “and the reason I’m standing like that is because I looked down in the car, and my pants had split.”

“Like the whole whooo … ” she added, whistling and circling her crotch for emphasis.

She also recounted another time she had a wardrobe malfunction on her way to the Met Gala in 2014 wearing a custom Calvin Klein dress, saying, “I was about a block away from the Met, and I was like, ‘Wow, this is amaz … ah-choo!‘ And I sneezed and my dress split.”

“So I’m pulling up and [Calvin Klein designer] Francisco [Costa]’s so proud of this dress,” she continued. “I put the window down and he’s like, ‘Baby, you look amazing.’ And I’m like, ‘Thank you so much. My dress just broke.'”

“I’ve never actually seen someone turn green before, and I’m like, ‘It’s going to be fine,'” she recalled. “‘I can go on the carpet — I can keep my arm down, and I’ll hold it in place, and we’ll get inside and there’s going to be a needle and thread … ‘ And he goes, ‘Pull over!'”

Thankfully, the pair were able to find a seamstress at a local hotel who stitched up the dress and sent the star on her way.