Celebrity News

Smokey Robinson is a major Bruno Mars fan

Smokey Robinson didn’t hesitate when asked which current artist he’d like to see perform at the Apollo Theater, while chatting with Page Six at the premiere of the new documentary about the iconic venue.

“He’s already done it because Bruno Mars is my favorite,” he said of the singer’s 2017 performance. “I’m very happy that Bruno did that, and not only did he do it, he gave away the tickets.”

When it came to picking his favorite Bruno Mars song, the 71-year-old Motown legend couldn’t make up his mind.

“I love his music, I can’t pick one,” he said. “He’s made so many hits … He’s my favorite male artist right now.”

The “That’s What I Like” singer’s performance at the Apollo was also a televised special on CBS.

The Harlem theater hosted the opening night of the Tribeca Film Festival on Wednesday, with HBO’s documentary “The Apollo” kicking off the festival. 

Robinson, who told us he “grew up playing here,” having first stepped on the famed stage in the 1960s, hopes that Mars’ performance keeps the momentum going for younger artists.

“I think all the young acts that have never played here should come here and do it, and I encourage them to do it when I see them,” he said.

As for his own performances at the Apollo, Robinson fondly remembers his first gig, despite his nerves.

“The first time I ever played here, I played with my group The Miracles and it was the most frightening experience I think I’ve ever had, but it’s in my heart,” he said.