TV

An emotional goodbye for the cast of ‘Veep’

The cast of “Veep” got emotional while talking about saying goodbye to the HBO series after seven years.

“Every moment felt more precious,” Reid Scott, who plays Dan Egan, told Page Six at the HBO show’s final season premiere in New York on Tuesday night. “You got to Episode 3 or 4 and you start to realize this is the last time we’re going to be in this set, this is the last time I’ll be in these clothes, this is the last time these characters will interact and once that set in, it started to get a little emotional. You can sort of look around and see everyone trying to keep it together.”

He added, “I pushed my emotions way down deep and turned them into something festering inside myself and let them all out in the end. I cried at the end, everybody did. Tears of joy though. For me it felt very fist-pumpy, toss the cap, pop the champagne, very victorious, triumphant at the end. We made a great show. We all really became legit friends and family. It’s been wonderful.”

Sam Richardson, who joined the show as Richard Splett in Season 3, also felt the emotions running high while filming the final episodes.

“It was emotional knowing it was the last one,” he told us. “We had the benefit of knowing it was the last season opposed to having it sprung on us after the fact. So I think we all took the time to appreciate every table read, every day of filming was really bittersweet.”

As for whether or not the fans will be satisfied with the ending of the show, Anna Chlumsky isn’t quite sure.

“I got to be completely honest, I know what it’s like to be a fan of a show,” she said. “Sometimes you hate the finale, you just hate it, so I don’t know.”

As for her take on the “Veep” finale, “I love it,” she said. “I think it’s exactly the way it should end. I think it’s perfect for what we set out to do. It actually kind of connects arc dots for everybody in a lovely way. I hope they enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it, but I also strangely understand if they’re mad because people like to be mad at finales.”

The final season of “Veep” premieres March 31 on HBO.