Celebrity News

JoJo Fletcher thought Jordan Rodgers would leave her heartbroken

JoJo Fletcher once questioned if Jordan Rodgers was on “The Bachelorette” for the right reasons.

Speaking about their relationship on a recent episode of “Engaged with JoJo & Jordan,” Fletcher, 28, responded to a comment from a fan, who admitted to wondering about Rodgers’ true intentions when the couple appeared on Season 12 of ABC’s reality dating series back in 2016.

“Kind of thought the same thing about Jordan when I met him,” Fletcher revealed. “It was a struggle the whole time we were together. I knew how great we were and how much I cared for him, and I was falling in love with him, but there was something. So this was an example of where I totally judged him.”

Rodgers’ character was questioned by critics during his time on the show, including an ex-girlfriend, who slammed him on Instagram. One of Rodgers’ competitors also attempted to smear his name.

“I had this thought in the back of my head, ‘This guy’s going to leave me broken-hearted,'” Fletcher said.

Though Rodgers, 30, won Fletcher’s heart in the end, defeating fellow finalist Robby Hayes, he said tuning out the noise led to difficulties early on.

“I try to turn a blind eye to a lot of the negativity, especially around the show, and rumors and lies and what people thought about me, and I think that was probably why the first couple months together was so hard,” Rodgers explained. “We were sorting through all these perceptions and it’s hard not to listen to people.”

Engaged for over two years, Rodgers told Page Six in September why the couple isn’t rushing to the altar.

“We’ve been traveling a ton, and what I always tell people too is, when you finish the show, it’s an interesting period of time because you’re merging your lives together, figuring out where you’re going to live, so really the first year-, year-and-a-half it’s gone. And you’re still dating someone, so we enjoy that, and that aspect of being engaged and appreciating every aspect of our life,” he shared.