TV

‘The Act’ actress Joey King says it was empowering to shave her head

Joey King, who has shaved her head for three acting roles, says every woman should do it once if they get the chance.

“I think it really made me a stronger woman actually,” King told Page Six at the premiere of “The Act” on Thursday. “I think every girl should shave their head if they get the chance to. It’s really empowering. It may not be a popular opinion, but I feel like it made me embrace my womanhood a lot more.”

The 19-year-old actress most recently shaved her head to play the real-life Gypsy Rose Blanchard in the Hulu series. Blanchard was sentenced to 10 years in prison after she orchestrated the murder of her mother, Dee Dee Blanchard, following years of psychological abuse stemming from Munchausen syndrome by proxy. Her mother made her believe she suffered from leukemia, asthma, muscular dystrophy and many other chronic illnesses.

“I definitely sympathize with Gypsy,” King said. “I mean, she was a victim for so long, she became a little bit of a master manipulator for survival purposes.”

"The Act"
“The Act”Brownie Harris / Hulu

As for the real Gypsy Rose, who’s in the middle of serving her sentence, King says she knows about the show but doesn’t know how she feels about it.

“I can imagine it would be hard for her to watch it because you know it’s like watching your life story and other people portray it. It’s got to be a little bit difficult, but I do know she’s aware of it,” King told us.

“The Act” actors and their real-life counterparts: 

1 of 5
Gypsy Rose and Joey King
Gypsy Rose Blanchard and Joey King HBO ; Hulu
Dee Dee Blanchard and Patricia Arquette
Dee Dee Blanchard and Patricia ArquetteHBO ; Hulu
Advertisement
Nicholas Godejohn and Calum Worthy
Nicholas Godejohn and Calum WorthyAP ; Getty Images
Advertisement