Celebrity News

Tiffani Thiessen breaks silence on Luke Perry’s death

Tiffani Thiessen is opening up for the first time about the loss of her friend and “Beverly Hills, 90210” co-star Luke Perry.

“My heart has been weighing heavy,” Thiessen, 45, shared on Instagram with a black-and-white photo of her and Perry. “The loss of a man who started as my co-star but quickly became my friend.”

In 1994, Thiessen, fresh off the success of “Saved By the Bell,” joined “90210” to play Valerie Malone. The character had a romantic relationship with Perry’s character, Dylan McKay, on the show.

In the post, Thiessen also reminisced about how Perry treated her on set.

“He welcomed me on my very first day of #90210 with open arms,” she said. “A day that was not an easy one for me. I was coming in to a show, a family really, that had been together for over 4 years. But this man took me under his wing and made me feel at home. Made me feel like I belonged in his TV family.”

Thiessen then wrapped up the caption with some kind words about Perry, saying, “He was sincere, sweet, warm, kind, professional and funny as all heck. And most of all, the definition of a gentleman. Luke, our world has a hole in it now that you aren’t here. But heaven definitely gained you as an angel.”

Perry was pronounced dead on Monday at age 52 after suffering a massive stroke less than a week before in his Sherman Oaks, Calif., home.

His rep confirmed the actor’s passing in a statement to Page Six, saying, “He was surrounded by his children Jack and Sophie, fiancé Wendy Madison Bauer, ex-wife Minnie Sharp, mother Ann Bennett, step-father Steve Bennett, brother Tom Perry, sister Amy Coder, and other close family and friends. The family appreciates the outpouring of support and prayers that have been extended to Luke from around the world, and respectfully request privacy in this time of great mourning.”