Style

Jameela Jamil: ‘Airbrushing is the damn devil’

Jameela Jamil is lifting the veil on parts of her body that have been airbrushed away.

The “Good Place” actress, 33, posted a photo of herself on social media and pointed out all of the places where she was unknowingly Photoshopped. “Where are my titty stretch marks?” she asked. “My arm wasn’t this thin. I am darker skinned than this.”

Continued the star: “This airbrushing is why women hate their normal knees. My knees look like vaginas and that’s fine!”

Jamil, who has often spoken out about the unrealistic beauty standards forced upon women, noted that seeing this dramatically altered image of herself affected her mental health. “It made me so mentally unwell trying to live up to this image in person. Airbrushing is the damn DEVIL. 💔,” she captioned the photo.

Jamil also retweeted R&B artist Kira Kosarin, who said she was inspired by Jameel to push back on a magazine’s proposed photo edits after being Photoshopped to look skinnier.

“To other celebrities and influencers… it’s not enough to just like my posts. I need you to stand with me like this wonderful human, and walk the walk,” Jamil wrote. “We all have the power to do this and we need to be more transparent because we are LITERALLY hurting women with our lies.”