Celebrity News

Miley Cyrus on being ‘a queer person in a hetero relationship’ with Liam Hemsworth

Miley Cyrus is opening up for the first time about her marriage to Liam Hemsworth nearly two months after tying the knot.

The couple exchanged vows in December, but Cyrus says their relationship is “New Age” and anything but traditional.

“We’re redefining, to be f–king frank, what it looks like for someone that’s a queer person like myself to be in a hetero relationship,” Cyrus told Vanity Fair in its upcoming March issue. “A big part of my pride and my identity is being a queer person.”

She continued, “What I’m in love with exists on almost a spiritual level. It has nothing to do with sexuality. Relationships and partnerships in a new generation — I don’t think they have so much to do with sexuality or gender. Sex is actually a small part, and gender is a very small, almost irrelevant part of relationships.”

In August 2015, Cyrus spoke out for the first time about her fluid sexuality in an interview with Elle U.K., and declared she was pansexual. At the time, Cyrus and Hemsworth, 29, were broken up, but they rekindled their romance in late 2015.

In November, Cyrus and Hemsworth’s multimillion-dollar mansion was destroyed in the California wildfires, and Cyrus told Vanity Fair how the unprecedented natural disaster drew the couple closer than ever before.

“What Liam and I went through together changed us,” she said. “I’m not sure without losing Malibu, we would’ve been ready to take this step or ever even gotten married, who can say? But the timing felt right and I go with my heart. No one is promised the next day, or the next, so I try to be ‘in the now’ as much as possible.”

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bt4FSQVhzSa/