Parents

Carey Hart receives backlash for teaching 7-year-old daughter to shoot a gun

Carey Hart did his best to aggravate the “parent police” on Wednesday.

The 43-year-old motocross pro posted a video of his 7-year-old daughter, Willow, shooting a .22 rifle.

“She is getting pretty good. Can hit a 12 inch pie plate from 30 yards. Started her shooting at 3yrs old,” he wrote.

Hart, who is married to singer Pink, explained that none of them hunt but rather shoot for sport. “I’m raising the kids with knowledge of fire arms, how to handle them, shoot them, store them, and avoid them in uneducated hands.”

The comments came rushing in — some applauding Hart, others bashing him for exposing a young child to gun culture.

Pink and Carey Hart with their daughter Willow
Pink and Carey Hart with their daughter WillowFilmMagic

“Please teach your kids about the 13th amendment. You’ve done enough to teach them about the second,” one person wrote to Hart.

“You are welcome to tap that little blue button,” Hart responded. “Ever think how awesome it would be if people didn’t have entitlement to throw vile comments on other people’s page? I have people that I follow that I don’t agree with on their post. Guess what I do? Keep scrolling.”

Another person chimed in, “There is absolutely no reason why a 3 year old needs to be shooting a gun. It is indoctrinating the toxic American culture that guns are somehow ‘cool’ and a ‘hobby’ idgaf if it’s your 2nd amendment right – it’s complete bulls–t.”

“I never slam people for speaking their opinion,” Hart said. “I enjoy debate and shedding light on subjects that are sensitive like this. Now when you disrespect my country or ‘culture’ I feel have every right to get nasty. Now I understand that you don’t ‘give a f–k it’s my 2nd amendment right’ but I sure as hell do.”