Celebrity News

Lady Gaga didn’t write ‘Do What U Want’ with R. Kelly in mind

Following her apology and removal of her and R. Kelly’s song, “Do What U Want,” a source close to Lady Gaga told Page Six that her Kelly collaboration began as a project with Chicago-based DJ White Shadow.

“The song existed before R. Kelly. She didn’t write it with him in mind. She wrote it not having any idea about him working on it,” the source said. “The decision for him to come on was after it had already been written, but it was not an intentional reference to his [alleged] behavior. I don’t think she knew about the legitimacy, or the extent, of his behavior at the time.”

Gaga wrote of the song: “As a victim of sexual assault myself, I made both the song and the video at a dark time in my life . . . I’m sorry, both for my poor judgment when I was young, and for not speaking out sooner.”

Kelly’s reportedly under criminal investigation in Atlanta and Chicago.