Celebrity News

Joey King: Fellow passenger thought I had cancer, feared he’d ‘catch it’

Joey King is speaking out about a strange incident that occurred on her flight.

The “Kissing Booth” actress, who recently shaved her head for her role in Hulu’s “The Act,” tweeted that a male passenger next to her texted his wife claiming King had cancer and was worried he’d “catch it.”

“Y’all I’m on a plane & this man next to me literally turned to me with his phone in my face & took a photo of me as if I wouldn’t notice & texted his wife that he’s sitting next to a girl who has cancer (just cuz I’m bald) & that hes scared to ‘catch it’…Y R PPL STUPID SUMTIMES,” she tweeted.

King, 19, couldn’t believe what had happened, especially since she could clearly read what he had written.

“I read his text over his shoulder it said ‘some bald chick next to me with Fckn cancer coughed and I don’t wanna catch it’…..um ya jokin?” she added.

Appalled fans responded to King’s tweets expressing their shock and dismay.

“UGH. THAT IS NOT OKAY. Cancer is a serious and painful disease,” responded one user. “It’s not just hard for the person itself. It’s also hard for his/her family. It’s a disease we as ppl know almost nothing about. I hate the fact that ppl underestimate the impact it has on ppl.”

Tweeted another, “I did not think that there were any people capable of this, it’s not human.”

In October, King shared a video on Instagram of her hair being buzzed for “The Act” and said it was her third time shaving her head for a project.