Celebrity News

Matthew McConaughey really wanted to play Jack in ‘Titanic’

Matthew McConaughey really wanted to be the king of the world.

“I went and auditioned for [‘Titanic’],” the “White Boy Rick” actor said during an interview on Hollywood Reporter’s “Awards Chatter” podcast. “I wanted that. I auditioned with Kate Winslet. Had a good audition. Walked away from there pretty confident that I had it. I didn’t get it. I never got offered that.”

The part went to Leonardo DiCaprio, launching him to stardom.

McConaughey joked though, “And as I’ve said before not even half jokingly if it’s true, if that was an offer and it didn’t come to me, I’ve got to go back and go, ‘I’ve got to meet in an alley with that agent.'”

And while the 49-year-old is confident with all the roles he would eventually go on to decline, there’s one role he wishes he would have taken when he had the offer.

“I did turn down ‘L.A. Confidential,'” he said. “I think it was the Guy Pearce role. And that’s a movie I really, really liked. That one sticks out to me as one that I’m like, ‘Oh man, that would have been a really good one to be a part of.'”

McConaughey would go on win over women’s hearts with “The Wedding Planner,” “How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days” and “Failure to Launch” before taking home an Oscar in 2014 for “Dallas Buyers Club.”

It might be time for him to let go.