Celebrity News
exclusive

Dakota Meyer feels like ‘a failure’

Dakota Meyer is a celebrated war veteran, but he feels like a failure.

Meyer, 30, was honored for his military accomplishments at a baseball game in a new “Teen Mom: OG” clip obtained by Page Six, but he insisted he doesn’t deserve recognition because he feels like a “failure.”

“It was a breathtaking moment and I had said you deserve every bit of this,” his friend Tank told him as they sat together to watch the game.

“I hate this stuff,” Meyer revealed. “Every time I’m out there you got a thousand people standing up — it’s just like, it’s like a thousand people recognizing your failure.”

“You say you’re a failure a lot. Why?” Tank pressed.

“I mean, tell my teammates. Go tell their families I’m not a failure,” Meyer said as his expression turned to sorrow. “I failed the most important people in my life, you know, on September 8, 2009. People who were relying on me more than anything.”

On September 8, 2009, Meyer, a corporal in the Marines, was in Afghanistan when his squad was ambushed by Taliban fighters. After four of his fellow soldiers became surrounded in intense combat, he decided that he and Staff Sgt. Juan Rodriguez-Chavez were going to defy orders to save them. They drove straight into a killing zone, where Meyer exposed himself to enemy fire to save his men five times. He eventually found the four missing men were dead, and he beat a Taliban fighter to death for trying to take their bodies.

Ultimately, Meyer’s actions saved 36 men.

“I just turned around and I did it in the marriage,” he added. “Bristol [Palin]. Sailor. Atlee and Tripp. I failed four people again. The next four most important people in my life.”

Tank tried to reason that his divorce from Palin was a “stepping stone” rather than a failure, but Meyer wasn’t having it.

“It’s like f–k. You don’t even want to bring anybody else in your life because it’s like … you don’t ever wanna fail them too,” he said.

Tank reassured him that his two daughters were meant to be in his life, and Meyer agreed.

“That’s why I try to focus so hard on them,” he said. “I mean, that’s my biggest fear is like what happens the day they wake up and realize I’m a failure?”

Meyer told Tank he was scared of that day, and his friend offered him a pat on the back as consolation.

Palin, 27, and Meyer married in 2016 and divorced just two years later after welcoming two children together.

They both agreed that his PTSD put a strain on their marriage on episodes of “Teen Mom: OG,” airing Mondays at 9 p.m. ET.