Celebrity News

Quincy Jones apologized to T-Pain after trashing ‘P.Y.T.’ cover

Quincy Jones apologized T-Pain for slamming his cover of Michael Jackson’s “P.Y.T.”

During a now-infamous interview with Vulture published in February, the legendary producer savaged the cover of “P.Y.T.” that T-Pain recorded with Robin Thicke for the 2010 tribute album “Soul Bossa Nostra.”

“I said to them, ‘Look, you got to make the music better than we did on the originals’. That didn’t happen,” he told the website. “T-Pain, man, he didn’t pay attention to the details.”

The singer addressed the criticism earlier this week on “Watch What Happens Live,” telling Andy Cohen that the producer reached out to him after the interview ran to make sure they were okay.

“He actually DMed me immediately after that came out and he just explained to me that he’s … just old,” T-Pain said. “He said, ‘Look man sometimes I just get in my age and I just babble on about what I know.’ So I accepted his apology. I never lost any respect for him, I just didn’t know why he went like that with it.”

Shortly after the interview ran, the singer was quick to distance himself from it, tweeting that he had told Jones, “I don’t want to remake any of your past records because I know I’m gonna fuck it up. I’ll never be able to reach the greatest of MJ.”

T-Pain was far from the only person Jones trashed in the interview. He also claimed Richard Pryor had sex with Marlon Brando, accused Michael Jackson of ripping off “Billie Jean” and said Paul McCartney was the worst bass player in the world when they first met.