Celebrity News

Why Jordan Rodgers and JoJo Fletcher are waiting to wed

Jordan Rodgers and JoJo Fletcher are still enjoying engagement bliss, two years after their fairytale proposal on “The Bachelorette.”

“We don’t have any wedding plans yet, but I think getting settled into a new place will be a big first step,” Rodgers told Page Six Tuesday of the pair’s move to Dallas.

JoJo Fletcher and Jordan Rodgers in 2016
JoJo Fletcher and Jordan Rodgers in 2016GC Images

“We’ve been traveling a ton, and what I always tell people too is, when you finish the show, it’s an interesting period of time because you’re merging your lives together, figuring out where you’re going to live, so really the first year-, year-and-a-half it’s gone. And you’re still dating someone, so we enjoy that, and that aspect of being engaged and appreciating every aspect of our life,” the SEC Network analyst continued.

Rodgers, 30, popped the question to Fletcher, 27, on the Season 12 finale of ABC’s long-running reality series in 2016. A front-runner early on, the one-time quarterback said one of the keys to his success was sticking to his own timeline, despite the show’s accelerated dating process.

“In my show, I may have frustrated a lot of people, but when I first met JoJo’s dad and family, that’s when you’re supposed to ask [their permission to propose], right? But I’m not going to because it’s the first time I’ve ever met him, and if I was in the real world I probably wouldn’t ask for her hand in marriage the first time I meet her father,” he said. “I did things a little different, even within the same confines of the show.”

Rodgers’ playbook ultimately led to success with Fletcher. And while the couple has thought about their future, the present moment can sometimes lead to an impasse, particularly where dining options are concerned.

“The biggest crux in our relationship is finding a place to eat. So if it’s before 1 o’clock, I’m like breakfast, always breakfast,” he said.

Given Rodgers travels often to cover college game days, fueling up for breakfast is imperative, which is why he jumped at the chance to created a morning delicacy with Holiday Inn Express. Defeating fellow “Bachelor” alum Jesse Palmer and ESPN personality Maria Taylor for top dish in the “Readiest Breakfast Challenge,” Rodgers said he took his love of pancakes to another level.

Jordan Rodgers and his "7-on-7" creation
Jordan Rodgers and his “7-on-7” creationHoliday Inn Express

“You give a quarterback the opportunity to make something like this, seven layers of deliciousness,” Rodgers said of his “7-on-7” creation, a stack of pancakes with sausage, bacon and eggs sandwiched in between. “I love pancakes, and I’m also health conscious, so I slipped in a veggie omelet to balance it out.”

Food isn’t the only critical component of Rodgers’ relationship with Fletcher.

“Our dog, he’s the kind of dog at the dog park that wants to hang out by himself,” Rodgers joked of the duo’s German Shorthaired Pointer.

As for expanding their family, it has crossed Fletcher’s mind.

“Right now, JoJo is pushing me, she wants another one, and I do too, everyone loves a puppy, but when you’re traveling …” he said.

For now, it appears Jackson will remain the couple’s only canine.