Movies

Bradley Cooper based ‘A Star Is Born’ character on Eddie Vedder

Bradley Cooper revealed that he drew inspiration from Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder for his role as grizzled rock star Jackson Maine in “A Star Is Born.”

“I went up to Seattle and spent four or five days with him and I asked him 9,000 questions,” Cooper, 43, told Yahoo Entertainment, confirming a long-held Reddit suspicion. “He gave me minor, little things that only musicians know about what to do, just aesthetically and the inner workings.”

Cooper says that Vedder, 53, was “wonderful,” but added that the “Jeremy” singer advised him that doing the movie (and singing within it) may not be a good idea.

“He thought it was crazy I was going to do this movie,” Cooper admitted. “He was like, ‘What? Bro, don’t do that.'”

Cooper previously revealed that he styled the film’s live shows after Metallica concerts.

“I’m a huge fan of Metallica,” he told Variety. “About six years ago I was at a Metallica concert [standing behind the drum kit] and I saw the scope of it … and thought, ‘Wow, this composition is incredible and that’s what it feels to be on stage, to be a rock star.’ So in the movie, you’re always on the stage.”