Celebrity News

Luann de Lesseps says she went back to rehab voluntarily

Luann de Lesseps went to rehab for a second time of her own accord.

Appearing on Wednesday’s episode of “Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen,” the “#CountessAndFriends” performer dismissed “Real Housewives of New York” co-star Dorinda Medley‘s allegations that she was ordered to go to rehab by the courts.

“Luann didn’t go to rehab because she had some huge revelation. She went to rehab because she needed to stay out of jail, and was practically court ordered,” Medley, 53, said on the “Housewives” reunion.

De Lesseps, 53, who entered treatment while the cast filmed the reunion, replied to Medley’s claims, stating, “I was not court ordered to go to rehab. I went on my own recognizance, so Dorinda doesn’t know anything about me. I went because I felt that I needed to go and take care of myself. I take it very seriously, my sobriety, and it’s 51 days [sober] today.”

In July, de Lesseps sought treatment for the second time in less than 12 months. She first checked into an alcohol treatment center in December of last year, following her arrest in Palm Beach, Fla., during the holidays. She will avoid jail time for her drunken meltdown.

With her cabaret career continuing to thrive, de Lesseps also gave an update about her family affairs, specifically daughter Victoria and son Noel.

“Everything is great with the kids. It was a big hiccup about me wanting to get the house upstate, and not being in the Hamptons. I decided to keep the Hamptons house,” she said. “The kids are great, we all had Labor Day together.”

During an August appearance on “Megyn Kelly Today,” de Lesseps said her relapse was triggered by news of ex-husband Alexandre de Lesseps accusing her of stealing from their two children.

“I found out about this whole story, that I was getting sued, in the press,” de Lesseps explained. “That was devastating, I felt betrayed, I felt so hurt by that. I had my heart set on that house, my heart. I was devastated and I lost it.”

She recalled drinking watermelon martinis with a girlfriend to ease the pain.

“I had two or three of those, then I think two bottles of rosé wine by myself, and then I probably had a six-pack of beer or something. I was dancing in my kitchen with a bikini on,” she revealed.

De Lesseps also said she now feels “almost allergic to alcohol.”