Celebrity News

Kathleen Turner says working with Burt Reynolds was ‘terrible’

After 40 years in the entertainment business, Kathleen Turner isn’t holding back her negative feelings toward Burt Reynolds from the actors’ work together on the 1988 movie “Switching Channels.”

“Working with Burt Reynolds was terrible,” the 64-year-old actress said in an interview with Vulture published Tuesday. “The first day Burt came in he made me cry. He said something about not taking second place to a woman. His behavior was shocking. It never occurred to me that I wasn’t someone’s equal.”

She continued, “I left the room sobbing. I called my husband and said, ‘I don’t know what to do.’ He said, ‘You just do the job.’ It got to be very hostile because the crew began taking sides. But as for the performance, I was able to put the negativity aside. I’m not convinced Burt was.”

The hard feelings are apparently mutual, as Reynolds, 82, told Andy Cohen earlier this year that Turner was the most overrated actor of the ’70s and ’80s.

Page Six has reached out to Reynolds’ team for comment.

Speaking with Vulture, Turner also opened up about being a “sexual target” following her role in the 1981 film “Body Heat.”

“I understood later, from Michael Douglas, that there was a competition between him and Jack Nicholson and Warren Beatty about who would get me first,” she said, adding, “None of them did, by the by.”

Despite the “competition” for Turner’s affections, she says she loved working alongside Douglas and Nicholson during her career.