Celebrity News

Elizabeth Vargas: It feels ‘really great’ to help people with alcohol addiction

Life after ABC looks good on Elizabeth Vargas.

While she’s starting up the next leg of her career at the A&E Network, she’s also been touring the country giving speeches on alcohol addiction and anxiety.

“If I’ve helped one person, I feel really great, but I hear from people almost daily,” Vargas, 55, told People. “That makes me feel like it was worth it to be as brutally honest as I was.”

In early 2014, Vargas told the public that she is an alcoholic. The journalist had also taken time off from work for a rehab stint. The mother of two returned to work by October of that year. Amid all of that, she also divorced her husband of 12 years, Marc Cohn.

Vargas aired all of her own dirty laundry in her 2016 memoir, “Between Breaths: A Memoir of Panic and Addiction.”

Today, she’s on her own program to ensure her sobriety.

“It’s been a great several years,” she said. “And I do not take it for granted. I have my own program that I stick to, and I’m grateful for every day that I have.”

In May, Vargas said goodbye to ABC after nearly two decades with the network. She’s now the host of A&E’s “Investigates” series.

Her first project with the series is “Cults and Extreme Beliefs.”