Celebrity News

Kevin Smith’s doctor said weed saved his life

According to Kevin Smith’s doctor, weed saved his life.

The filmmaker, 47, told Stephen Colbert that he initially thought the massive heart attack he suffered in February was caused by having smoked too much pot that day, but it turns out it was keeping him going.

“I asked my doctor like after this was all done, I was like, ‘I hate to ask this question, man, but did I have a heart attack because of the weed?’” Smith explained on Tuesday’s episode of “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.” “’Because I smoked a joint right before the show.’ And he goes, ‘No. In fact, quite the opposite. That weed saved your life.’”

The “Clerks” director, who isn’t shy about his love of marijuana, was confused and asked his doctor what he meant.

“He goes, ‘You kept calm. They told you you were having a massive heart attack. I just told you now. They told you were going through stuff and you remained calm the whole time, so that joint saved your life,’” Smith said. “I was like, ‘I’m putting that on a T-shirt.’”

On Feb. 25, Smith was forced to cancel the second of two stand-up shows in Glendale, Calif., after he experienced trouble breathing. He was rushed to a hospital, where he was told he had a 100 percent blockage of his LAD artery and required emergency surgery.

Smith has previously described feeling high during the operation, but it was actually the fentanyl administered by his doctors and not marijuana that he was feeling.