Celebrity News

Kanye West reveals he became addicted to opioids after liposuction

Kanye West revealed he became addicted to opioids after having liposuction.

“Two days before I was in the hospital I was on opioids,” he said during a bizarre interview on “TMZ Live” Tuesday. “I was addicted to opioids. I had plastic surgery because I was trying to look good for y’all. I got liposuction because I didn’t want y’all to call me fat like y’all called Rob [Kardashian] at the wedding and made him fly home before me and Kim got married.”

West, 40, was hospitalized in November 2016 following an onstage meltdown during the Saint Pablo tour.

“I was taking two pills a day at that time,” he said. “When I left the hospital how many pills do you think I was given? Seven. I went from taking two pills to taking seven.”

He continued, “The reason why I dropped those tweets and everything is because I was drugged the f–k out bro, and I’m not drugged out … these pills that they want me to take three of a day, I take one a week maybe, two a week. Ya’ll had me scared of myself, of my vision, so I took some pills so I wouldn’t go the hospital and prove everyone right. We are drugged out. We are following other people’s opinions. We are controlled by the media and today it all changes.”

During an interview released Tuesday with Charlamagne tha God, West said at the time of his breakdown he thought he was going to die. He explained it was a result of exhaustion from touring, as well as stress.

“I think I’m in a stronger place than I ever was after the breakdown, or as I like to call it ‘the breakthrough,’” he said before his blowup on TMZ Tuesday afternoon.

In the same TMZ interview, West also addressed slavery and his affection for Donald Trump, who he called “my boy.”

“When you hear about slavery for 400 years. For 400 years?! That sounds like a choice,” he said.

Later he tweeted, “To make myself clear. Of course I know that slaves did not get shackled and put on a boat by free will.”