Celebrity News

Tinsley Mortimer thinks Sonja Morgan wants to take her down

Two years after entering the lion’s den of “The Real Housewives of New York,” Tinsley Mortimer has found her voice.

“We’re all big huge personalities, and everybody wants to get their point across, and I finally feel like I’ve been able to develop a voice and people are going to listen to me,” the socialite told Page Six on Wednesday. “I feel more like myself. I’m not 100 percent at this point, but I am getting there.”

Following her 2016 arrest for trespassing in Palm Beach, Fla., Mortimer, 42, was in a “really dark place.” Upon moving into co-star Sonja Morgan‘s townhouse last year, Mortimer believed she’d bounce back in a New York minute.

“I hit rock bottom, I was in a bad relationship and really was just not myself,” Mortimer explained. “I moved into her place thinking I was going to bounce back in New York immediately, and I didn’t. It took a long time, and I feel like this season is the season I really feel like I find myself again. I’m so happy where I am right now. I’m more confident, and I’ve got my feet on the ground.”

Mortimer has since forged close friendships with castmates Carole Radziwill and Dorinda Medley, who understands her frustrations with former roommate Morgan, 54.

“The day I met her, she was screaming at the dinner table at Ramona’s, and I was like, ‘Oh my God, how could she?’ But I still loved her. Flash forward a year later, I’m screaming at the dinner table at Ramona’s, so I get it, and it’s all because of Sonja,” Mortimer said. “Sonja can push your buttons.”

Mortimer erupted during Wednesday’s episode after Morgan claimed the socialite’s on-and-off-again beau, Scott Kluth, was funding her lavish lifestyle.

“I’m very hurt by what Sonja has said about me,” Mortimer said. “There’s no reason to try to degrade my family, my relationship, myself, there’s no reason for that. I really thought that I did whatever I could to be supportive to her as a friend. I don’t know why she feels the need to take me down, it’s hurtful.”

As for whether their friendship can be repaired, Mortimer has hope.

“The thing about Sonja is, there is a deep-rooted friendship there. We’re like sisters, we’ll always be able to get through it, and look, if Sonja is the worst of my problems, then I don’t have problems.”

“The Real Housewives of New York” airs Wednesdays at 9 p.m. on Bravo.