Celebrity News

Michael K. Williams finally gets a chance to ‘make people laugh’

Michael K. Williams has been a breakout star on HBO’s edgy “The Wire,” “Boardwalk Empire” and “The Night Of,” but in his series for Sundance TV, he gets to do something new, laugh.

“Even though there is some darkness there is still some comedy,” Williams told us of the upcoming season of “Hap and Leonard.”

“In this season I lied about being an African doctor, so I immediately have to come up with a fake accent. So people will see me as funny . . . I do not get a chance to make people laugh in my career.”

The show, which has been called “Texas noir,” debuts its third season on Wednesday.

Williams says of co-star James Purefoy, “I thought just because we were friends it would be a no-brainer for us to jump into this, but it actually made it more difficult.”