Celebrity News

Mira Sorvino apologizes for working with Woody Allen

After speaking out against Harvey Weinstein, Mira Sorvino is now denouncing Woody Allen in an open letter to his daughter Dylan Farrow.

“I confess that at the time I worked for Woody Allen I was a naive young actress,” Sorvino, 50, wrote in an open letter for The Huffington Post Wednesday. “I swallowed the media’s portrayal of your abuse allegations against your father as an outgrowth of a twisted custody battle between Mia Farrow and him, and did not look further into the situation, for which I am terribly sorry. For this I also owe an apology to Mia.”

Dylan, 32, accused Allen of sexually abusing her in 1992, when she was 7 years old, with the allegations resurfacing after she wrote a 2014 op-ed in the New York Times.

The 83-year-old Allen has steadfastly denied the allegations.

Sorvino said she reached out again to Dylan’s brother Ronan Farrow in December, after he interviewed her for his bombshell Weinstein piece in the New Yorker.

“In December I called your brother Ronan, sharing about the aftermath of my and other women’s coming forward about Harvey Weinstein. How it had been a sometimes empowering, sometimes bitter and heartbreaking experience, as more and more details came out of hidden damage this man had done me … I told him I wanted to learn more about you and your situation. He pointed me toward publicly available details of the case I had ruefully never known of, which made me begin to feel the evidence strongly supported your story. That you have been telling the truth all along.”

“I am so sorry, Dylan! I cannot begin to imagine how you have felt, all these years as you watched someone you called out as having hurt you as a child, a vulnerable little girl in his care, be lauded again and again, including by me and countless others in Hollywood who praised him and ignored you,” she wrote. “As a mother and a woman, this breaks my heart for you. I am so, so sorry!”

The actress worked with Allen, 83, on the Miramax-distributed film “Mighty Aphrodite” in 1995. She won an Oscar and a Golden Globe for the role, but soon saw her work dry up. She later accused Weinstein, 65, of blacklisting her from the industry after she rejected his sexual advances, an allegation that was corroborated by directors Peter Jackson and Terry Zwigoff.

Dylan has been outspoken against stars who’ve worked with her father, including Blake Lively, Justin Timberlake, Kate Winslet and Cate Blanchett. This week, Dylan expressed appreciation of Golden Globe winner Greta Gerwig for announcing she’d never work with Allen again.

On Wednesday night, Dylan warmly accepted Sorvino’s apology.

“I am overwhelmed and my gratitude to you cannot be expressed sufficiently in words,” Dylan tweeted. “This letter is beautiful and I will carry your words with me. Your courage has been boundless and your activism an example for us all. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.”