Celebrity News

Shawn Johnson suffers miscarriage

Former Olympic gymnast Shawn Johnson revealed Saturday that she suffered a miscarriage six weeks into her pregnancy.

“We feel like a lot of people go through this so we wanted to share it,” the 25-year-old former Olympian, who’s married to Andrew East, said in a YouTube video titled “pregnancy + heartbreak.”

The 20-minute video diary documents the moment Johnson discovered she was expecting, later sharing the surprise with former NFL player East, 26. As the clip continues, the couple goes to the doctor as Johnson suffers ongoing stomach pains.

Andrew East and Shawn JohnsonGetty Images

“It sounds like it can either be something normal or that we lost the baby,” she said.

During the visit, the doctor informs Johnson she miscarried naturally.

“The past 48 hours have been some of the happiest, scariest, and saddest times of my life,” Johnson wrote of the video. “My husband Andrew and I found out that we were unexpectedly pregnant, only to find out hours later some tragic news. I have been crying more than I ever have, but am still optimistic for what is next.”

In a separate Instagram post, Johnson praised East for supporting her through the heartbreaking ordeal.

“@andrewdeast I love you more than anything in this world and I know you are going to make the greatest Daddy in the world someday,” Johnson captioned. “Thank you for being my rock through all of this.”

The couple celebrated their first wedding anniversary in April. They got engaged at Chicago’s Wrigley Field in July 2015.