Celebrity News

Kevin Hart is a ‘victim’ in extortion scandal, says lawyer

The woman in the video from Kevin Hart‘s Las Vegas romp maintained Wednesday that she is not the extortionist trying to “expose” Hart as a liar and a cheater.

In a press conference with attorney Lisa Bloom, Montia Sabbag admitted to being “involved” with the comedian but vehemently denied any involvement with the secret recording.

“I was involved with Kevin Hart a month ago … I’m not an extortionist. I’m not a stripper,” she said. “I’m a recording artist and an actress, and I have not broken any laws. I had nothing to do with these recordings … I’m truly sorry for any involvement I had in this.”

Bloom said in a statement that Sabbag isn’t looking for “a cent” from Hart and insisted their case “is not about money.” Instead, Sabbag and Bloom are interested only in finding the perpetrator behind the video, as secretly placing cameras in a private place is a crime.

“Kevin Hart appears to be the victim of this criminal, just as Montia is a victim of this criminal,” Bloom’s statement read. “We invite Mr. Hart to join us in bringing the perpetrator to justice.”

Although it has been reported that authorities are investigating, Bloom said Sabbag hadn’t been contacted by law enforcement so they would be going to authorities Wednesday to launch an investigation.

Hart, meanwhile, has been showing a united front with pregnant wife Eniko Parrish, stepping out for lunch together Monday with their wedding rings on.