Celebrity News

Ivanka Trump felt postpartum depression hindered her ‘potential’ as a parent

Ivanka Trump‘s pregnancies might have been “easy,” but the real struggle began after her three children were born.

“With each of my three children, I had some level of postpartum,” the First Daughter told “Dr. Oz,” in an episode airing Thursday. “It was a very challenging, emotional time for me, because I felt like I was not living up to my potential as a parent or as an entrepreneur and as an executive. And I had had such easy pregnancies that in some way, the juxtaposition hit me even harder.”

Trump, 35, who shares three children with her husband of eight years Jared Kushner, 36, welcomed her youngest, 17-month-old son Theodore, last March, as she and her family were on the campaign trail.

When asked by Dr. Oz why she was choosing to open up about her private battle now, President Donald Trump‘s eldest daughter emphasized how postpartum affects others across the nation.

“It’s incredibly important. And, look, I consider myself a very hard-charging person. I am ambitious, I’m passionate, I’m driven but this is something that affects parents all over the country,” she said.

According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC], one in nine women experiences postpartum depression.

Trump gave birth to her first child, daughter Arabella Rose, in July 2011. She later welcomed son Joseph Frederick in October 2013.