Celebrity News

Gwyneth Paltrow wants to be the Oprah of wellness

Gwyneth Paltrow may want to be the next Oprah Winfrey.

The actress is determined to expand her Goop brand beyond a lifestyle blog, recently entering the publishing world with a Goop magazine and soon expanding into television.

“What we are thinking of doing is a TV show with the working title ‘The Radical Wellness Show,'” Paltrow, 44, told The Hollywood Reporter in an interview released Wednesday. “I would be going into the field and talking to any number of doctors, scientists, civilians, people in crisis in Flint, Michigan, where there is something to uncover and confront about wellness. We would want it to feel more Vice-y in its vibe, but we’re just in the brainstorming phase,” she explained.

Paltrow also noted that it’s not her dream to necessarily be the cover girl of Goop magazine all the time.

“It would be great if I didn’t have to be, but I know that the people at Conde Nast and Anna know what best practices are,” the Oscar winner, who posed for the inaugural issue covered in mud, said. “We’re doing this first year as a test, and I wouldn’t want to make the magazine more than quarterly, but we’ll see.

As she is wont to do, Paltrow also complained about fame’s effect on her brand, which has come under fire from NASA scientists, ad execs and even Leighton Meester.

“[Celebrity] makes it much more difficult. For the business I’m creating, it’s an obstacle I always have to overcome,” Paltrow, who shilled vaginal steams and jade eggs, lamented. “For example, Reese [Witherspoon], who is a dear friend, has this quickly growing Draper James [clothing] business, and she leverages her celebrity in a great way for her brand. But for this model — where I’m trying to make Goop bigger than me and its own brand — you become inextricably linked. I’m a target in a way most entrepreneurs are not.”

Perhaps having an “a ha moment,” she noted, “When I interview someone for a position, it takes them a while before I’m not Gwyneth Paltrow. It’s just an obstacle and then it’s OK. But it’s also a blessing when we need to leverage my celebrity — it opens doors. I don’t know many young entrepreneurs who can call Bob Iger, Sheryl Sandberg or [Airbnb founder] Brian Chesky, and they are kind enough to waste a little bit of their day to help me. So in that respect, my celebrity has been a huge asset.”

Paltrow is heavily focused on Goop, but admitted that she misses Hollywood as well.

“I need to be here right now, [but] I went to Atlanta to do ‘Avengers 4,’ so I’m in and out for that, and it’s weird to go back and forth,” she said. “We’re growing fast, and balls are dropping all the time. But honestly, I was on set and thought, “You sit here for two hours sipping tea, Robert Downey Jr. and Don Cheadle are making me laugh hysterically — why the hell did I give this up?”

Gwyneth Paltrow and Goop’s most criticized products:

1 of 11
Gwyneth raved about the benefits of Vagina Steams before "Women's Health" found it could disrupt the natural flora of the vagina and cause burns. Youtube
If you're feeling something missing in your life try a pouch that holds magically charged stones: citrine, clear quartz, black obsidian, rose quartz, amethyst, lapis lazuli, carnelian, and chrysocolla (also known as The Goddess Stone).Goop
Advertisement
And if that fails you can always put a jade egg up your private parts. Goop
In the same breath they recommended these 18k gold dumbbells that go for $125,000. M'oda 'Operandi
Goop at one point recommended a $1,500 prisoner's ball and chain. Those prices are criminal. Blackman Cruz
Advertisement
How annoying is it when you have that tiny bit of toothpaste left in your tube that you just can't get out? With the Cedes Milano toothpaste squeezer that's a thing of the past. Only $244. Cedes Milano
Taking it a step past wet wipes, this is a pack of toilet paper pads wrapped in a ribbon with various beauty creams for the low price of $956. Joseph's
Goop recommended this 24k gold dildo. This thing literally screws you out of your money. Lelo Inez
Advertisement