Celebrity News

Gwen and Gavin went through ‘so much therapy’ before split

Gavin Rossdale has revealed he underwent “so much” therapy with ex-wife Gwen Stefani to try and save their marriage.

The Bush frontman split from the No Doubt singer after 13 years of marriage in 2015, and their divorce was finalized in April 2016.

But appearing on “Loose Women” Wednesday, Gavin revealed the couple had done everything they could to try and save their relationship for the sake of their three sons.

He said: “We had so much counseling, so much counseling, I could be a counselor. I tried, I tried hard but that’s the way it goes. But when you look at it, in a weird way, there are no accidents. Life works out how it should and I made sure I did everything I could so that if I was sat here two years on, I know I tried everything I could as opposed to being steadfast or arrogant or assuming I didn’t need help or we didn’t need help. I kind of embraced the help.”

The 51-year-old has since moved on with new girlfriend – German model Sophia Thomalla – while Stefani, 47, has been dating country music singer Blake Shelton since November 2015.

Gavin Rossdale and Sophia ThomallaSplash News

Asked whether his children – sons Kingston, 11, Zuma, 9 and Apollo, 3 – had met Sophia yet, Rossdale revealed they hadn’t.

He explained: “Not yet, no. [We’ve had] a bit of FaceTime to ease it in you know.”

Host Andrea McLean added how hard it can be for parents to know when to introduce their new partners after a divorce, as they want to be sure the person is going to stick around for the foreseeable future.

Rossdale agreed, saying: “That’s the crux of it, I’ve got to make sure it’s steady from my perspective.”

Janet Street Porter then asked if Stefani would have to meet Sophia before being introduced to their children but Rossdale replied: “It hasn’t worked the other way ’round so I don’t see why!”