Celebrity News

Liam Payne met Cheryl’s dad after she was pregnant

Liam Payne didn’t meet Cheryl’s dad until after she became pregnant.

The former One Direction singer welcomed his first child, son Bear, with his 33-year-old girlfriend in March after more than a year of dating.

But appearing on Friday night’s edition of The Graham Norton Show, Liam, 23, admitted he didn’t meet her father until after he found out he was going to be a dad himself, and that he had to make some home improvements before he arrived.

He said: “My missus was pregnant and I was meeting her dad for the first time so I thought I had better get rid of the life sized model dinosaurs I had in my garden.

“I had bought them drunkenly off the internet!”

Sitting on the sofa alongside actress Salma Hayek and Britain’s Got Talent judge and comedian David Walliams, Liam also opened up about how he first got together with Cheryl.

The singer confirmed X Factor boss Simon Cowell had been instrumental in their romance, recalling: “I told him how hot I thought she was. Weeks and months went by and then Niall said, ‘You’ll never guess who fancies you!’

“Apparently he had been with Cheryl when Simon told her that I fancied her – she had turned bright red and left the room!”

Liam performs his debut solo single Strip That Down on the show, but the star was happy to talk about his time in the famous boy band too.

After Salma discussed Donald Trump, Liam recalled an incident the band had with the now President.

He said: “One Direction once got thrown out of Trump’s hotel!

“We were were asked to meet Trump’s daughter but when we said no because there were so many fans it was unsafe, we were asked to pack our bags and leave!”

Liam also chatted about his son Bear, revealing: “He is two months old now and massive. He’s really tall and will probably be a basketball player.”

When Graham asked if juggling his new solo career and fatherhood had been a good or a bad plan, Liam replied: “I’d like to say I was a man for planning, but it just kind of happened!

“I had thought about not going solo because I wanted to write and chill out but when the opportunity came along it seemed wrong to turn it down after working so hard for 10 years.”