Music

Katy Perry: It’s time for Taylor to ‘finish’ feud already

Katy Perry finally confessed that her new single, “Swish Swish,” is a Taylor Swift diss track.

“There’s a situation. Honestly, it’s really, like, she started it, and it’s time for her to finish it,” Perry, 32, told “Late Late Show” host James Corden in a “Carpool Karaoke” segment that aired Monday night. “It’s about backing dancers, there were three backing dancers.

“It’s about backing dancers. It’s so crazy! OK, so there are three backing dancers that went on tour with her tour, right?” Perry said. “And they asked me before they went on tour if they could go, and I was like, ‘Yeah, of course. I’m not on a record cycle, and get the work, and she’s great’ and all that. But I will be on a record cycle in about a year, so be sure to put a 30-day contingency in your contract so you can get out if you want to join me when I say I’m going back on.’ So that year came up, right? And I texted all of them — because I’m very close with them — and I said, ‘Look, just FYI: I’m about to start, I want to put the word out there,’” Perry recalled. “And they said, ‘All right, we’re going to talk to management about it.’ And they did. And they got fired. And I tried to talk to her about it, and she wouldn’t speak to me … It was a full shutdown and then she writes a song about me.”

Swift, 27, previously said that her hit “Bad Blood” was about an unnamed female artist who she claimed pilfered her background dancers.

“For years, I was never sure if we were friends or not,” Swift said in a September 2014 Rolling Stone cover story. “She would come up to me at awards shows and say something and walk away, and I would think, ‘Are we friends, or did she just give me the harshest insult of my life?’ [Then in 2013] she did something so horrible. I was like, ‘Oh, we’re just straight-up enemies.’ … She basically tried to sabotage an entire arena tour. She tried to hire a bunch of people out from under me … I don’t think there would be any personal problem if she weren’t competitive.”

Perry continued, “I do the right thing any time that it feels like a fumble. It was a full shutdown and then she writes a song about me, and I’m like, ‘OK, cool, cool, cool, that’s how you want to deal with it? Karma!’ But what I want to say is that I’m ready for that BS to be done.”

However, instead of letting “that BS” fade away, Perry added, “There is the law of cause and effect. You do something, there’s going to be a reaction, and trust me, daddy, there’s going to be a reaction. It’s all about karma, right? … I think personally that women together, not divided, and none of this petty bulls—t, women together will heal the world.”

Last week, when Jimmy Fallon asked Perry if “Swish Swish” is “about someone we know,” she dodged the Swift talk.

“I think it’s a great anthem to use whenever someone is trying to hold you down or bully you,” she said. “‘Swish Swish’ represents liberation from all the negative that doesn’t serve you.”

While Swift has yet to comment on Perry’s diss track, a few members of her famous squad have chimed in on the controversy.

Joseph Kahn, who directed Swift’s “Bad Blood” video, as well as Perry’s 2008 smash “Waking Up in Vegas,” shaded Perry on Twitter on Friday, writing, “If you’re gonna do a diss track, at least put a decent hook in it.”

Fellow Swift supporter Ruby Rose quipped, “‘Purposeful poop’ to ‘bomb a petit’ to a sloppy mess of writing over the top of Funkagenda..stop trying to make ‘Wit..I mean ‘fetch’ happen … I just think with everything going on in the world to go from rebranding as political activist only to ditch it and go low.. is.. a bummer.”

A rep for Swift didn’t comment.