Celebrity News

Don Cheadle jokes George Clooney will be a ‘terrible parent’

George and Amal Clooney are expecting twins in June, but Don Cheadle has his concerns.

“I’m very happy for him. I’m going to have to raise them,” the “Miles Ahead” star joked to People on Sunday. “He’s going to be a terrible parent, and we’re going to have to handle that for him. We’re going to take the kids.”

As far as what advice he offered in order to prevent George, 55, and Amal, 39, from actually becoming terrible parents, Cheadle was steadfast.

“As soon as the kids come out, send them to us or they’re going to be ruined,” he said. “That was the advice.”

George and Amal Clooney pregnant
George and Amal ClooneyGetty Images

Cheadle, 52, also noted that he heard about the pregnancy “some time ago” and was never tempted to spill the beans, adding, “We keep each other’s secrets.”

Julie Chen announced the big news on “The Talk” last week after hearing about the pregnancy directly from the couple, who are friends with her husband, Les Moonves.

“My husband and I saw George and Amal about almost three weeks ago and they casually mentioned that they were expecting twins,” Chen, 47, told Entertainment Tonight on Sunday. “We were all like, ‘Is it a secret?’ and George kind of went, ‘No.’ But we didn’t feel right telling anybody.”

Chen kept quiet until the whispers of a pregnancy grew to a dull roar in the tabloids.

“My producer said, ‘We might report on it,'” she said. “I’m like, ‘No, it’s true! It’s totally true! He said it wasn’t a secret. Let’s break the news!’ I’ve been dying to tell. I called Leslie first because they’re old friends. Leslie knows him for so long. He goes, ‘You know what? I think it’s OK.’ … This is news everyone celebrates! How could you want to keep it a secret?”