Celebrity News

Why Joan Rivers ‘had the biggest balls in the business’

Sarah Silverman, Kathy Griffin, Dick Cavett and Don Rickles laud Joan Rivers in a new documentary on the late comedy icon’s life set to air on PBS.

Griffin, who briefly took Rivers’ spot on “Fashion Police,” recalls going with Rivers to visit Prince Charles, who asked her, “Well, who would keep us honest if it weren’t for news people and comedians?” (Although, Prince Charles is famously not fond of reporters. )

Rivers and Prince Charles were friends and exchanged Christmas gifts.

Rivers said in a 2010 interview he sent her two teacups, and she responded, “ ‘How could you send me two teacups when I’m alone?’ Another time I wrote, ‘I’m enjoying tea with my best friend!’ and I sent a picture of me in a cemetery. And he never acknowledges it!”

Silverman says in the doc, “Her existing changed everything for women in comedy.”

Roaster Jeff Ross says Rivers “had the biggest balls in the business,” and Gilbert Gottfried opens the flick, produced by the Comedy Hall of Fame, saying Rivers was “a mean, angry, bitter bitch, and I mean that as a total compliment.”