Fashion

Lanvin’s Alber Elbaz claims his life isn’t glamorous

Lanvin designer Alber Elbaz poked fun at the glamour of the fashion world during a Metropolitan Museum of Art conversation with Alina Cho about topics including Instagram.

“I look at it at night, I look at it in the morning,” he said. “It makes me feel so bad. I see these people and I know them, and Wednesday night they’re in Beijing for Dior and on Thursday they are in Barcelona . . . On Friday, they are just having a bit of a ski . . . I’m looking at just a simple dinner and even the mozzarella looks sexy. Then here I am with ketchup and tomato from last week, going to work, just making sure other people have a glamorous life.”

Elbaz later stated, “Everyone thinks that in fashion we are waking up at, like, midday with a glass of Champagne . . . [But] we’re always afraid or we don’t want to share this moment of simplicity and vulnerability and imperfection. But this is what life is all about.”

Elbaz admitted that after work, “I am watching Kim Kardashian and ordering pizza and having the time of my life.” He added of his friend Kardashian, “She’s a truly nice person.”