Cindy Adams

Cindy Adams

Movies

Cobie Smulders misses ‘How I Met Your Mother’

I’m not responsible for Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders’ review of their new film “Results.” Result for me is I love Cobie and Guy.

I loved Cobie’s multicolored skirt by Mantu, Ara Vartanian jewelry, and Cobie’s name. Also husband’s name Taran, and daughter’s name Shaelyn Cado.

Cobie: “I’m saddened our ‘How I Met Your Mother’ with Neil Patrick Harris ended after nine years. I miss it every day. Grateful I had it. You must appreciate what you have. I’m also grateful everyone’s put this outfit on me for the movie’s opening. Just sorry I can’t keep it.”

This lady knows about gratitude. She survived a health scare awhile back. She survived playing a personal trainer in “Results” while six months pregnant. “Fortunately, the baby was small,” she says.

Guy Pearce: “I play an aging Aussie fitness instructor. But, then, I am an aging Aussie fitness person. I’m always in a gym. I’m a bodybuilder since I’m 16. As writer Andrew Bujalski himself was working out, he said he planned to do a movie about it.”

The result is “Results.”

Train of thought

Wannabe tried-to-be mayor Catsimatidis: “That Amtrak train crash. When it tipped over, unsecured, not-strapped-in passengers were smashed against overhead baggage racks. Mandated should be that on any vehicle traveling so fast you must wear a seat belt. And 100 miles per hour with only one motorman? Why no co-pilot?”

Of good pedigree

Presidential possible O’Malley’s worked for government since kindergarten. City Council eight years, Baltimore mayor eight years, Maryland governor eight years. Clean, no money stashed, good Catholic boy, a mortgage and two daughters’ college loans to pay off. The family’s rah-rah American. In Hiroshima time, his dad-in-law flew 33 Pacific missions before becoming state AG. Concerned could they do this despite their financial burden, wife Katie, a judge, took awhile to convince.

Ahnuld’s career genesis

“Terminator Genisys” opens July 1 with Emilia Clarke, J.K. Simmons, Schwarzenegger, who vaulted into stardom, governorship, marriage and his housekeeper with James Cameron’s ’84 classic, “The Terminator”: “People thought I could only flex my muscles playing Conan or Hercules, so it was a great breakthrough. I remember that first action film well, because for once I didn’t have to take off my clothes.”

Odds & ends

Judge Judy at Shelly Fireman’s new Park Avenue South restaurant Florian . . .

Lest you not know, Paul McCartney reads comic books, Dustin Hoffman collects toy clowns, Mark Hamill loves Monopoly, Sophia Loren plays poker . . .

It’s Their Time

About this sudden p.r. on Siberia’s neighbor Kazakhstan. Newspaper ads, TV commercials, slogans like “It’s Our Time.” Really?

Travel expert Geoffrey Weill and I visited Genghis Khan’s old birthplace awhile back. Functionaries hosted a feast. Table-long platter of gray meat surrounded by noodles. What’s the meat? “In your honor, we have cooked horse.” We ate the noodles.

Gendarmes patrolled every entryway, doorway, stairway, hallway in the large — empty — hotel. Registered guests were also checked.

So it may truly be Their Time — but to do what?


The Times Square stop. A MetroCard in his hand. Cranky rider: “The cost of riding a subway has gone up too high. At these prices it’s now cheaper to urinate at home.”

Only in New York, kids, only in New York.