Celebrity News

Brooke Shields felt guilty after losing her virginity to Dean Cain

Although Brooke Shields’ romance with Dean Cain was “beautiful,” the former supermodel says losing her virginity to the future Superman made her feel guilty.

“Mom was unjustly judgmental of our romantic relationship and she feared it on a deeper level,” Shields, 49, writes in her memoir, “There Was a Little Girl, The Real Story of My Mother and Me” via E! News.

“I don’t know if she would ever admit to it but this threat went beyond Catholicism,” she added. “I believe she wanted me to stay hers alone. She believed in an absolute hold she had on me … and growing up, and having sex, would mean that I was leaving her.”

Shields was a 22-year-old junior at Princeton University in the mid-’80s when she and Cain, a football player, decided to consummate their love.

“It should have been what I had wished for myself, but in an instant, guilt slapped me in the face,” she wrote. “Instead of giving in to what was a loving, and emotionally safe, relationship, and escaping into the most intimate and deserved moment, I began to cry deeply and silently … and I got so overwhelmed that I jumped out of my bed.”

She recalls running away afterwards.

“I was buck naked, streaking down a hallway and running as if I had just stolen someone’s wallet,” she added. “What a sight! Dean leapt up and ran after me with the comforter in his arms. He threw it around, grabbed me around my shoulders and stopped me from running.”

Despite having a great relationship with Cain, she admits that she “could not handle loving somebody more than my mom.”