Preceptor Spotlight: Robyn Chen Sang

Robyn Chen Sang

Robyn Chen Sang (MScOT ‘18) is one of our many preceptors who share their time and clinical expertise to support our student occupational therapists during their fieldwork placements.

After five years of working as an occupational therapist, Robyn recently accepted the opportunity to supervise her first student occupational therapist. She shares what inspired this decision and what she learned from her experience as a preceptor.

Can you tell me a bit about what you do for work and your role in supervising student occupational therapists?

I work as an occupational therapist at SickKids hospital where I provide support for children experiencing neurodevelopmental, cognitive, and feeding and swallowing challenges. I recently volunteered to share preceptor duties with my colleague where I supervised a University of Toronto student occupational therapist on their first fieldwork placement. It was an honour to welcome them to the profession and offer mentorship and feedback as they practised and developed their clinical skills!

What influenced your decision to volunteer as a preceptor and welcome a student into your workplace? 

I vividly remember my own incredible clinical preceptors and how much they contributed to the hows and whys of what I do in my practice today. I very much value their ability to create a safe learning space for me to develop confidence in my skills. When I was offered the opportunity to supervise a student, I accepted it with the goal of supporting the student in a similar way.

As a clinician at a teaching hospital, I was provided with preceptor training and many opportunities to support student learning. I was also fortunate to have the support of colleagues with a wealth of experience in supervising students.

What aspects of being a preceptor do you find the most gratifying? Do you have a memorable moment from your experience you’d like to share? 

I find it rewarding to listen to students reflect on their clinical experiences, and then see them make changes to how they approach or analyze future situations. I once guided a student in developing daily reflection questions to help them get the most out of their placement. The student later said these questions helped them become more aware of their successes, challenges, and next steps. They also expressed their intention to continue this reflection practice in their future placements. Having a positive influence on a student’s journey is very fulfilling!

What are some common challenges or obstacles that students face during their clinical placements, and how do you support them through these challenges?

It can be challenging for students to navigate medically complex patient cases for the first time. I think there’s great value in showing students that it’s OK to not know everything — there are resources to learn.

When I show students my “never stop learning” attitude by asking thoughtful questions to our team, or researching unfamiliar diagnoses, I notice that students become more confident in asking their own questions and looking for ways to fill gaps in their own knowledge.

Why do you think it’s important for preceptors to offer their time to help train future occupational therapists?

A student’s fresh perspective, ideas, and curiosity about the ins and outs of the profession can be inspiring. Supervising students offers preceptors an opportunity to reflect on their clinical practice and improve their own skills and quality of care. Preceptors also play an important role in bridging the gap between theory and its practical application in clinical settings.