E-mails I Sent the Day of the ‘Miracle on the Hudson’

1 Sign Up For Our Daily Newsletter Sign Up Thank you for signing up! By clicking submit, you agree to

1

The good thing about the new Depression is that I’ve been in one for the past five years, so I’m used to it. Nice to have company.

 

2

Boom times are the worst in New York. I’d still like to slug this T-shirted guy at the Cub Room in Soho back in 1999 who told me all about his Internet start-up with 200 employees.

 

3

So nice being at Mr. Chow the other night and seeing it only half-full—no rapper or Internet guys, no Julian Schnabel and “Olatz” at that table by the bar, not even a Kelly Osbourne–caliber celeb. Just a few investment bankers, a table of five fat dudes gorging in silence, and my group. Best time I ever had there.

 

4

If a plane landing on water isn’t a good excuse to have fun, I don’t know what is.

 

5

I remember being on Nantucket in ’79 and this extra man dude Fred Von Miers knocking on the door and announcing, “It is I!”

 

6

I could really use my 30s back.

 

7

 Only one word for Captain Chesley B. Sullenberger III: Stud.

 

8

The real problem with Tropic Thunder is it’s too “clever” by half. Why not just do a spoof of a Vietnam movie, period? And I resent all the hype about how Robert Downey Jr. being in blackface was a big controversy and envelope-pushing and only he could get away with it ’cause he’s one of our finest living actors. Yawn.

9

I don’t trust 95 percent of my Facebook friends. Bunch of cocksuckers.

 

10

Being born in the mid-to-late 1930s woulda been pretty sweet. The country’s prosperous by the time you’re in high school. Too young for Korea, too old for Vietnam.

 

E-mails I Sent the Day of the ‘Miracle on the Hudson’