MLB

Twins’ Carlos Correa zen about losing more than $100 million in contract fiasco

Carlos Correa has more than 100 million reasons to be bitter, but he’s come to view his past contract imbroglio as a blessing.

Concerns over a past ankle injury caused Correa to lose out on contracts worth over $300 million with the Giants and Mets, and he wound up signing a six-year deal with the Twins for $200 million in 2023 (with four more years of vesting options).

Nevertheless, Correa is batting .305 with 11 home runs and a .883 OPS and on pace to have his best year so far in Minnesota.

Carlos Correa wound up signing a six-year deal with the Twins for $200 million in 2023 after aborted agreements with the Giants and Mets. Getty Images

In an interview with USA Today, Correa gushed about how things are going with the Twins.

“This is the best thing that could have happened to me and my family,” Correa said. “I don’t know what the other places would have been like, but this is a great place with a great family environment and great people all around that care about you. These are people that I feel comfortable with that I’ve grown to love.”

He also believes it would be easier to retire if that’s what he wants to do if there isn’t guaranteed money left on his deal.

Carlos Correa is batting .305 with 11 home runs and a .883 OPS and on pace to have his best year so far for the Twins. AP

“You know, the six years and the options seem a lot better than 13 years with the kids growing so fast and requiring so much attention to them,” Correa continued. “At some point, I’ve got to make the tough decision of, ‘Hey do I want to keep doing this or do I want to be with my family?’ So, it’s a lot easier with the structure on this contract than it was with a 13- or 12-year contract. This is definitely the best thing that could happen to me and my family.”

These comments echo the sentiments Correa made to The Post’s Jon Heyman during spring training earlier this year.

Carlos Correa says he’s thrilled to have ended up with Minnesota at the end of his free-agency ordeal. Matt Blewett-USA TODAY Sports

“I’m a simple guy. I’m a chill guy,” Correa told The Post in March. “I don’t hold grudges. It’s just the nature of the sport. It’s the nature of business. You have to move on. You can’t let that consume you. I’ve got two kids now, and I’ve got to set a good example. I’m very happy with the life that God has given me so far, and where he’s put me.”