Lifestyle

My sister spoiled my romantic proposal with a joke — I uninvited her from the wedding

A romantic proposal of marriage is one of life’s most cherished memories, but for one groom-to-be, his surprise moment was ruined by his sister. 

“I recently got engaged to my girlfriend and it was supposed to be one of the happiest moments of our lives,” the 29-year-old man shared to the popular AITA reddit forum.

“I had planned a romantic proposal at our favorite spot, a secluded beach where we had our first date. I had everything ready: flowers, a small picnic, and a photographer hiding nearby to capture the moment.”

“Big mistake”

While the romantic gesture had been well planned, the man shared how on the day, his older sister insisted on tagging along to capture some “candid” photos of the loved-up pair.

A man on Reddit is planing on not inviting his sister to his wedding after she ruined his proposal plans.
A man on Reddit is planing on not inviting his sister to his wedding after she ruined his proposal plans. Syda Productions – stock.adobe.com

“I was hesitant but agreed, thinking it might make the moment more special. Big mistake.

“As we reached the spot, my sister started acting weird, making snarky comments and trying to direct the whole scene like a movie. 

“My girlfriend could sense something was off, and the mood was getting ruined. Then, out of nowhere, my sister grabbed the ring box from my pocket and yelled, ‘Surprise! Look what he’s going to do!’ My girlfriend was shocked, and I was furious.”

“The proposal was ruined”

The man continued by explaining how he managed to salvage the proposal somewhat, but that “the moment was tainted.”

“My girlfriend said ‘yes,’ but we both felt the proposal was ruined. Later, I confronted my sister, and she just laughed it off, saying she was ‘just trying to help’ and that I was overreacting.”

Regardless of whether or not he was overreacting at the time, the groom and bride-to-be took serious action by un-inviting his sister to their wedding for her interference in their romantic moment.

“We wanted our day to be about us, without any unnecessary drama,” he explains in the post.

“When my family found out, they were furious. My parents called me heartless, and my sister is playing the victim, saying I’m tearing the family apart over a ‘little joke.’”

“I don’t blame you!”

He ends the post by saying he is now “feeling conflicted.” Asking for advice as to whether he is in fact ‘the asshole’ for not inviting his sister to the wedding.

The comments were sympathetic to the groom’s predicament.

“What she did is so ludicrous that my first reaction was that perhaps this post isn’t real, no one could be that obtuse,” wrote one surprised poster.

“I don’t blame you one bit for not wanting her at your wedding; you already made the mistake of allowing her to come along to the proposal.”

Many comments on the post question if his sister was in fact aged 32, as her actions were so strange for an adult woman.

“I was thinking maybe she was a teenager, then it would be still be bad but maybe more understandable. That girl has issues and OPs parents obviously enable her. I wouldn’t want her anywhere near me either.”

“Stay strong and don’t invite her,” added another along the same theme.

“You should probably put your parents on a strict information diet and have security at your wedding to ensure your sister and/or your enabling parents don’t pull some shenanigans.”

A third added: “What’s the joke? And how was she helping? Your sister is beyond out of line. I’m so sorry you have to deal with her nonsense.”

“This is your wedding”

Finally, there was some advice for the OP on how to proceed.

“This is your wedding, and you don’t have to tolerate stupid, immature or unacceptable behavior. Your parents also sound like enablers.”

With one final poster adding: “You might want to consider eloping… Your family will ruin it for you to make it ‘fair’ to your sister.”