Lifestyle

Customers fume after couple’s dog sits on restaurant’s table

An Australian couple have been slammed for allowing their pet dog to sit on a Guzman y Gomez countertop as they dug into their meal.

The Sydney pair were pictured eating at the Mexican restaurant in Newtown while their small dog sat perched on top of the benchtop next to them.

The image sparked outrage among the community after it was posted to Reddit, with many pointing out that while they are a dog lover themselves, letting a dog sit where customers will eat is simply “gross.”

The couple was pictured eating at the restaurant while their small dog sat perched on top of the benchtop next to them. mildlyinfuriating/Reddit

“Dog owner here. That’s f–king moronic. I do not want canine a–hole germs in my burrito, por favor,” one commenter said.

“I love dogs, but what kind of an idiot puts their dog on a table where people eat! I bet this couple doesn’t pick up their dog’s s–t from the footpath too,” another wrote.

Other Redditors were quick to raise concerns about pet owners believing they can take their furry friends wherever they like.

“I do not want canine a–hole germs in my burrito, por favor,” one commenter said. Google St View

“I don’t hate dogs. But you shouldn’t be able to take them wherever you want,” one person wrote.

“Your Dog isn’t going to get anxiety because you didn’t take them to f–king Guzman y Gomez.”

Other commenters offered the dog owners a more sanitary option if they want to bring the pooch out to eat in the future.

Commenters offered the dog owners a more sanitary option if they want to bring their pet. mildlyinfuriating/Reddit

“I mean, I love dogs. I 100 per cent take my dog with me if I’m going somewhere dog friendly. I’m totally an advocate for dogs in public spaces but this ain’t it,” a commenter said.

“Bring a mat and quietly tuck the dog under your chair or table where it won’t get in the way of anyone else. Absolutely rank disgusting behavior.”

In a statement, the restaurant said a shift leader did ask the guests to take the dog off the bench and out of the restaurant as soon as they saw the situation.

“It appears another guest took a photo prior to this occurring,” they said in a statement to Yahoo.

While many took offense at the pooch, some felt wiping the table down is a simple solution to sanitation concerns.

“I reckon they wipe down the tables fellas nothing to be mad about,” a Redditor said.