Parenting

‘Sustainable queen’ mom gifts her kids ‘trash toys’ she find on the street

“You’re coming home with me,” a mom begins in a video about giving her kids toys from the street, when she spots a filthy car discarded on a footpath.

In a now-viral TikTok, Finleigh Powell explained her two-year-old son had wanted a toy car for a while, so she asked permission from the owner and snapped it up.

“What’s better than finding a freebie?”

Finleigh admits that the state of the toy was deplorable.

“Now, you’re probably gonna think I’m a terrible mom for this, but my two-year-old has wanted one of these for the longest time and what is better than finding a freebie on the side of the road that just needs a little spruce-up?”

“Yes, it was absolutely disgusting. There was everything you could think of inside and out.”

“There’s bird s–t on it, there was a snail family, it was just absolutely honking.”

In a now-viral TikTok, Finleigh Powell explained her two-year-old son had wanted a toy car for a while, so she asked permission from the owner and snapped it up.
In a now-viral TikTok, Finleigh Powell explained her two-year-old son had wanted a toy car for a while, so she asked permission from the owner and snapped it up. Kidspot

“But hold off on the judgment and wait until you see it at the end because me and my son did an absolutely cracking job on this.”

Finleigh used a bucket, carpet brush, and some fairy liquid to scrub down the car.

“I’ll tell you something though, my arms were aching at the end of this. I think I scrubbed it with that brush for about half an hour.

“It was an absolute pain in the ass to do because it kept rolling away, but after my lengthy workout the main bit was done.”

The resourceful mom admitted that they could have bought the toy brand new, but queried why she should waste her money, and also contribute to landfill?

Finleigh admits that the state of the toy was deplorable.
Finleigh admits that the state of the toy was deplorable. Kidspot

“I don’t care if I’m a tight-ass”

Finleigh continues, “I know this video is going to divide opinions whether I’m a tight-ass mom or whether I’m in the right or the wrong, but I really don’t care.”

“We were going to buy him one of these. We can now spend that money doing something else, and this also saves this car going to the tip and just being waste landfill.”

“So one we’ve saved the planet, and two, I’ve saved my bank account, and three I’ve still got a happy boy at the end of it all.”

“And that is all that matters. What does it matter where it came from? My son is happy and that is all I care about.”

In the comments of the clip, viewers loved Finleigh’s initiative.

“Sustainable queen!” one cheered enthusiastically, while another added, “”This also created memories and that is priceless in itself! ‘Mommy, remember when we found that car and cleaned it?'”