US News

Boy, 14, recalls almost losing leg in NC beach shark horror: ‘I was just screaming and screaming’

A 14-year-old West Virginia boy recalled the moment a shark tore into his right leg while he and a pal were splashing around in the surf at a North Carolina beach over the weekend.

Blayne Brown said he was in the water at North Topsail Beach with a friend around 12:30 p.m. on Sunday when she took off for the sand and things went terrifyingly wrong, WNCT-TV News said in a report.

“So she ran away, then like right after she just ran away I think it just bit me,” Blayne told the outlet.

Blayne Brown, 14, underwent emergency surgery at Camp Lejeune after a shark bit his leg on a North Carolina beach. Facebook / Naval Medical Center Camp Lejeune
Doctors at Camp Lejeune said Blayne Brown suffered deep bit wounds and damaged tendons in a shark attack Sunday. WNCT

“I was in the water, like screaming for help,” he said. “People just looked at me and I thought I was just screaming and screaming. I didn’t even know there was a shark that bit me. It just scared me so bad.”

North Topsail Beach Police Chief William Younginer told WNCT that cops were at the teen’s side quickly after he limped out of the surf and onto the shore bleeding heavily.

“You had about a two-minute response out to him, which was great,” the chief said. “Bystanders were already putting a towel on there and applying pressure, which is what you should do.”

The teen is expected to recover but will have scars from the ordeal. Facebook / Joe Brown

Brown was rushed to the Camp Lejeune Naval Medical Center at the nearby military base, a major trauma facility where he went into surgery to repair damaged tendons, officials at the hospital said in a Facebook Post.

According to the facility, the teenager is expected to recover but will have scars from the ordeal.