NBA

How Duke’s Jared McCain turned his dreams into 2024 NBA Draft reality

Jared McCain has come a long way from scoring his first bucket on his own team’s hoop when he was 3 years old. 

“I am visualizing winning Rookie of the Year,” McCain said Tuesday at the NBA’s draft availability in Midtown. 

After starring for Duke as a freshman, the 6-foot-3 guard was widely projected as a first-round pick Wednesday night.

Duke Blue Devils guard Jared McCain. JASON SZENES FOR THE NEW YORK POST

The Post’s NBA Mock Draft had him going to the 76ers with the 16th pick

This was all part of McCain’s vision. 

“I am a big believer in manifesting and meditation and just seeing what you are going to do in the future,” the 20-year-old said. “To be a potential first-round pick, that’s been in my journal for a while.” 

As soon as McCain stepped into Cameron Indoor Stadium, his persona rippled through the hardwood. 

“He was a freshman, and although he wasn’t a captain, you could tell he was a really good leader,” former Blue Devil teammate Kyle Filipowski said. “He just came in since Day 1, working non-stop every day, all with a positive attitude.” 

Jared McCain reacts during an Elite Eight game against North Carolina State on March 31, 2024. AP

What stands out the most about McCain’s game is his pure shooting mechanics.

He is one of his class’ most effective and lethal off-ball shooters, shooting 46.2 percent from the field and 41.4 percent from 3-point range. 

“The visualization of doing well has helped me elevate my game,” McCain said. 

Even as a freshman, McCain became one of Duke’s go-to players. He averaged 21 points per game during Duke’s run to the Elite Eight. 

Jared McCain helped Duke reach the Elite Eight. Getty Images

In his childhood home in Corona, Calif., on the outskirts of Los Angeles, McCain created a “dream board,” a bright yellow piece of paper with his aspirations listed. 

“Announcing that I’m going to the NBA draft was probably the biggest one ever for me to check,” McCain said. 

Slowly, all of McCain’s dreams and reps of visualization are becoming realities. 

“I am feeling grateful. I am living my dream right now,” McCain said. “I’m trying to take in every moment that I can.” 

Everything almost feels too surreal for him. 

“I feel like I am in ‘2K’ right now,” McCain said, referencing the NBA video game. “I am excited to play against players I have used on ‘2K,’ especially [Steph] Curry.”