Movies

Scarlett Johansson begged to be in the ‘Jurassic Park’ franchise: ‘I can get eaten by whatever!’

From superheroes to dinosaurs.

Scarlett Johansson confirmed she will be starring in Universal’s newest “Jurassic World” movie — after begging for a role in the franchise for a decade.

“I’m such an enormous fan of the franchise and huge nerd for it. I’m just like, I can’t even — I’m pinching myself,” Johansson told ComicBook while promoting the film “Fly Me to the Moon.”

“I’m such an enormous fan of the franchise and huge nerd for it. I’m just like, I can’t even — I’m pinching myself,” the actress said of the role. AFP via Getty Images
“Jurassic Park” starred Jeff Goldblum, Laura Dern and Sam Neill in 1993. ©Universal/courtesy Everett / Ev

In March, the Hollywood Reporter reported that the Oscar nominee, 39, was in talks to join the next installment. For Johansson, this role has been a long time coming.

“I’ve been trying to get into this franchise in any possible way for over 10 years,” she told ComicBook in an interview published on Monday. “I’ll die in the first five minutes! I can get eaten by whatever! I’ll do the craft service!’ I’ll do anything for it.”

She added: “The fact that it’s happened in this way at this time just is actually unbelievable.”

“Jurassic World Dominion” starred Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard in 2022. AP

Johansson spent roughly a decade in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), but she’s in no hurry to leave franchise films. 

When asked what about the new “Jurassic” project made her want to join another franchise, she replied: “Everything.”

“I’m an enormous ‘Jurassic Park’ fan. It’s one of the first films I remember seeing in the theater,” she told the outlet. “It was, like, life-changing.”

Joseph Mazzello in 1993’s “Jurassic Park.” Amblin/Universal/Kobal/REX/Shutt
Laura Dern reprised her role in 2022’s “Jurassic World Dominion.” Universal Pictures and Amblin En

The “Avengers: Endgame” actress last appeared in the MCU in 2020’s “Black Widow.” 

Jonathan Bailey will join Johansson in the next “Jurassic World” project. The Bridgerton star, 36, announced his casting while visiting “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon” in May. 

Additionally, he posted a photo of himself riding the film’s Universal Studios attraction via Instagram.

“Jurassic World Dominion” (2022). Universal Pictures and Amblin En
Chris Pratt as Owen Grady in “Jurassic World Dominion” in 2022. ILM/Universal Pictures and Ambli

The new film will be written by David Koepp, who wrote the screenplay for the original 1993 Steven Spielberg movie and the 1997 sequel,“The Lost World: Jurassic Park.” 

“The script is so incredible,” Johansson told ComicBook. “[Koepp] returned after, like, 30 years to write the script.”

Gareth Edwards is set to direct. He previously directed “Godzilla” (2014), “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” (2016) and “The Creator” (2023).

Jeff Goldblum, Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Bryce Dallas Howard, Chris Pratt, Isabella Sermon and DeWanda Wise in “Jurassic World Dominion” (2022). AP

The new installment is said to have a different storyline than what audiences have been used to. “Jurassic World” leads Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard are not expected to return, nor are the original “Jurassic Park” trilogy stars Jeff Goldblum, Laura Dern and Sam Neill, according to Deadline.

The new film is slated for release on July 2, 2025.