US News

RFK Jr.’s running mate Nicole Shanahan’s baffling reasons why she’d be a great president

Robert F. Kennedy Jr.’s running mate Nicole Shanahan rattled off a series of baffling reasons in an interview Thursday about why she would make a great president if she had to step into the role — including her knowledge of “batteries” and “world religions.”

Speaking to Elex Michaelson on Fox 11’s The Issue in her first major TV interview since joining Kennedy Jr.’s presidential ticket, Shanahan discussed basic policy issues and her personal life.

Michaelson asked Shanahan, 38, what experiences she’d had that would make her fit for president if, in a “worst-case scenario,” she had to lead the country.

Nicole Shanahan was asked why she’d make a good commander-in-chief, and her answers were baffling. YouTube / Elex Michaelson

“I think that I have a very sophisticated view on foreign affairs due to my previous work in intellectual property law (sic),” she said.

“I understand how global commerce works. I understand how we build batteries around the world.”

Her reasons as to why she’d make a great commander-in-chief became increasingly perplexing as she went on.

“I understand the importance of semiconductors. I understand that big foreign policy decisions are made specifically around semiconductors, and I also am multicultural,” she continued.

“My background is one in which I’ve spent most of my spiritual life studying world religions, and I think it’s really important right now for us to understand and respect each other’s religious alignment and understand the depths and the nuances of it.”

Shanahan, who’s the ex-wife of Google founder Sergey Brin, added that she also has “a great deal of understanding, compassion, strength and will to put America first.”

Shanahan said that understanding the “importance of semiconductors” and “how we build batteries” makes her an excellent candidate. YouTube / Elex Michaelson

During their five-year marriage, Shanahan attended parties with other tech executives in Silicon Valley where she consumed recreational drugs including cocaine, ketamine and psychedelic mushrooms, according to The New York Times.

Shanahan, a big-ticket donor to Kennedy’s campaign, shares many of his views on issues such as the environment and public health — and is also a former member of the Democratic Party.

Asked why she wants to be vice president Shanahan told Michaelson it’s “because I want to take my learnings of being a mother in today’s America”.

Shanahan claimed that “big foreign policy decisions are made specifically around semiconductors”. REUTERS

“Um, being, uh, somebody who has really looked at our health-care issues, who understands deeply our AI challenges and the the technology landscape of this country and I want to bring it to the White House,” she said.

“I think that there’s a great need right now to bring a youthful capable, um, mindset and framing to the biggest issues that are challenging this country today and of course I, I’m a very, very enthusiastic, uh, Bobby Kennedy supporter.”

Shanahan also listed her time “studying world religions” as one reasons she would make a good commander in chief. Jay Janner / American-Statesman / USA TODAY NETWORK

Kennedy Jr. praised Shanahan as a “lawyer, brilliant scientist, [and] a fierce warrior mom” and underscored her work on issues near and dear to him when unveiling her as his No. 2 in March.

“I wanted a vice president who shared my passion for wholesome, healthy foods; chemical-free regenerative agriculture; for good soils. And I found exactly the right person,” Kennedy Jr. said at the time.