Entertainment

Fashion icon Diane von Furstenberg reveals she once turned down a threesome with Mick Jagger and David Bowie

Three’s a crowd.

Diane von Furstenberg reveals in her upcoming documentary, “Diane von Furstenberg: Woman in Charge,” that she turned down having a threesome with Mick Jagger and David Bowie back in the day.

“I considered it and I thought, ‘OK, this is a great thing to tell your grandchildren,'” she said, according to the New York Times.

Diane von Fürstenberg. Getty Images

“Then I came back to the room and they were two little skinny things, and I didn’t. Actually, it’s a better story that I didn’t,” she went on. It’s unclear when the alleged encounter took place.

“Oh my God, I wonder what Mick is going to say,” von Furstenberg added about Jagger, mentioning that she’s the godmother of his daughter Jade.

She added of Bowie: “I never thought he was sexy, but he was intelligent. Mick was sexy and intelligent.”

Per the Hollywood Reporter, the doc cuts to von Furstenberg’s grown granddaughter, who says that turning down the two men was a “really epic” move on the designer’s part.

Mick Jagger and David Bowie performing in June 1986. Redferns
David Bowie and Mick Jagger in London in 1999. Getty Images

Von Furstenberg’s documentary premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival on June 5, and it debuts on Hulu June 25. The Belgian fashion designer also talks about creating the iconic wrap dress and splitting from husband Prince Egon von Furstenberg of Germany in 1983 after 14 years of marriage.

Barry Diller, Diane von Furstenberg, David Bowie and Iman at the 2005 CFDA Fashion Awards. Patrick McMullan via Getty Images

“Divorce for me was freedom,” she says in the doc, per THR.

Von Furstenberg, now 77, revisited her partying days at the iconic New York City nightclub Studio 54 when she became single, too.

“I was with Warren Beatty and Ryan O’Neal on the same weekend,” she recalled. “How about that? I was very proud.”

Diane von Furstenberg in her new documentary.

“If I didn’t have kids, I can’t even imagine what I would have become, because I would’ve had no restraint. It wasn’t even about seduction when I was young,” she told NYT. “It was about — why can guys do that and women not? Why can a man hunt and boast about it, and why can’t a woman? That was the fun, really. Diana’s the huntress. I like the hunting.”

The Post has reached out to Jagger’s rep for comment. Bowie died at age 69 from liver cancer in January 2016.

Von Furstenberg and Prince Egon, meanwhile, had two children — Alexander and Tatiana — during their marriage. They divorced in 1983 and Prince Egon died 21 years later of AIDS.

Diane von Furstenberg at the premiere of her documentary at Tribeca Festival on June 5, 2024. Adela Loconte/Shutterstock

Von Furstenberg married American medial mogul Barry Diller in 2001.

She has five grandchildren from her first marriage.

Barry Diller and Diane von Furstenberg at the 2024 Met Gala. REUTERS

The documentary was directed by Oscar winner Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy and Trish Dalton.

In the trailer for the doc, von Furstenberg gives herself praise for her accomplishments in the fashion industry.

“The adventure of my own life has been incredible. I was in charge of my destiny. I became the woman I wanted to be,” she says.

Diane von Furstenberg in Washington, DC, on May 30, 2024. Getty Images for Vital Voices Global Partnership

There are also appearances by Hillary Clinton, Anderson Cooper, Fran Lebowitz and Oprah Winfrey, who weigh in on von Furstenberg’s success.

Diane von Furstenberg at New York Fashion Week 2016. Getty Images

“My role is just helping to inspire women,” von Furstenberg says in the trailer. “The only place to find your strength is by being true to yourself.”

As for Diller, von Furstenberg says her husband “is the consistent love in my life.”