Boxing

Xander Zayas on pace to be Puerto Rico’s next boxing star: ‘Really special’

Xander Zayas expected it to come — just not this fast. 

The 21-year-old super welterweight phenom, who became the youngest-ever fighter to sign with Top Rank at 16 years old, barely spent any time at all as one of boxing’s most exciting prospects. 

Already, he’s a main event attraction. Already, it’s his name in the promotion of the card. Already, it’s his face on all the fight posters. 

Xander Zayas was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico before moving to Florida as a child. Courtesy of Mikey Williams/Top Rank

Already, it’s his fight that is selling tickets and bringing in fans. 

Zayas (18-0, 12 KOs) is headlining Top Rank’s June 8 card against Patrick Teixeira (34-4, 25 KOs) and the Theater at Madison Square Garden (11 p.m. Eastern, ESPN). 

Born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, before growing up in Florida, Zayas always has dreamed of becoming the face of the biggest fight on Puerto Rican Day Parade weekend. 

“I feel like that’s a great milestone,” Zayas told The Post. “There’s four milestones that I wanted to accomplish or that I want to accomplish in boxing. First was signing, second was my pro debut, third was the main event and the fourth is a world championship — that is coming. After those four, obviously you’ve got a lot more goals, but those are really important because you only get them once. … Miguel Cotto did it for so many years, my favorite fighter, somebody that I look up to in the boxing world. And now just getting this opportunity to be the headliner at Madison Square Garden on Puerto Rican Day Parade weekend, it’s something that as a kid you only dream of, but you never expect it to be so early in your life or your career. 

“But it’s here, I gotta take advantage of it. I gotta show up and show out.”

Though he didn’t grow up in New York City, Zayas has built a strong connection to the vibrant local Puerto Rican community.  

Xander Zayas (R.) punches Ronald Cruz during their bout on June 10, 2023. Courtesy of Mikey Williams/Top Rank

And Zayas was on the field at Citi Field before the Mets-Dodgers clash on Wednesday, hanging out with local Puerto Rican stars Francisco Lindor and Edwin Diaz.

He knows well how much the Puerto Rican community in New York City adores its champion fighters, particularly their exploits on this specific weekend. 

Zayas’ idol, Cotto, owned the weekend for much of his career. 

Xander Zayas is 18-0 with 12 KOs to start his career. Courtesy of Mikey Williams/Top Rank

But few have been able to carry the torch since. 

There haven’t been many talents like Zayas, however. 

“It’s a big responsibility for me,” Zayas said. “It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, represent Puerto Rico, represent everybody that has their heart in Puerto Rico. It’s something that is really special for me, it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do. I’ve been getting the opportunity since Day 1, and I’m just gonna continue to represent them, show them love, the same way they showed me love and represent me.” 

Xander Zayas (R.) punches Ronald Cruz during their bout on June 10, 2023. Courtesy of Mikey Williams/Top Rank

Like with the local community, Zayas has made Madison Square Garden a second home. 

Saturday’s bout will be Zayas’ fifth in the venue. 

“The mecca of boxing,” Zayas said. “I feel like every fighter dreams of fighting here. Obviously, seeing all the former Puerto Rican legends fight here and have great shows here, it’s an opportunity for me to showcase my talent to the boxing world and to Puerto Rico. It’s something that means a lot to me.”